Short Courses - GPEN 2024

Short Course 1: Formulation and Delivery of Biologics

Organizers: Sarah Hook, University of Otago (sarah.hook@otago.ac.nz)

Student Co-Ordinator (UCPH) – Abhijeet Lokras (abhijeet.lokras@sund.ku.dk)

TIme Presentation NameUniversity/CompanyTitle
9.00 – 9.20Faculty presentation 1Sarah HookUniversity of OtagoChallenges for delivery of biologics, Responsive Delivery Systems
9.20 – 9.50Faculty presentation
2
Wolfgang FreissLudwig-Maximilians-University of MunichChallenges for Formulation of biologics, Interfaces and self-interaction
9.50 – 10.20Student presentation 1TBCTBCTBC
10.20-10.40Break
10.40-11.00Student presentation 2TBCTBCTBC
11.00 – 11.30Faculty presentation 3Michael Burger ETH Zurich Protein-based gene delivery
11.30 – 12.00Faculty presentation 4Camilla FogedUniversity of CopenhagenDelivery of Nucleic Acid-based drugs

Short Course 2: CNS Drug Delivery and Pharmacokinetics

Organizers: Joseph Nicolazzo, Monash University (Joseph.Nicolazzo@monash.edu)

Student Co-Ordinator (UCPH) – Maria Thaysen (mthaysen@sund.ku.dk)

TIme Presentation NameUniversity/CompanyTitle
9.00 – 9.20Student presentation 1TBCTBCTBC
9.20 – 9.50Faculty presentation 1Teruna SiahaanUniversity of KansasImproving delivery of molecules through the BBB by modulating cadherin interactions
9.50 – 10.20Faculty presentation 2Joseph Nicolazzo Monash UniversityDisease effects on drug transporters at the BBB: implications for CNS delivery
10.20-10.40Break
10.40-11.00Student presentation 2TBCTBCTBC
11.00 – 11.30Faculty presentation 3Mie Kristensen University of CopenhagenBrain delivery of therapeutic peptides – with a helping hand from cell-penetrating peptides
11.30 – 12.00Faculty presentation 4Bill Elmquist University of Minnesota CNS drug delivery: how much is enough?

Short Course 3: Development of Oral Formulations and IVIV Correlation

Organizers: Christel Bergstrom, Uppsala University (christel.bergstrom@farmaci.uu.se) and Patrick Augustijns, KU Leuven (patrick.augustijns@kuleuven.be)

Student Co-Ordinator (UCPH) – Cristiana Cunha (cristiana.cunha@sund.ku.dk)

TIme Presentation NameUniversity/CompanyTitle
9.00 – 9.20Student presentation 1TBCTBCTBC
9.20 – 9.50Faculty presentation 1Patrick AugustijnsKU LeuvenTBC
9.50 – 10.20Faculty presentation 2Anette MüllertzUniversity of CopenhagenTBC
10.20-10.40Break
10.40-11.00Student presentation 2TBCTBCTBC
11.00 – 11.30Faculty presentation 3Christel BergströmUppsala UniversityTBC
11.30 – 12.00Faculty presentation 4TBCTBCTBC

Short Course 4: Individualized Medicine – From Genetic Polymorphism to 3D Printing

Organizers:  Julian Quodbach, Utrecht University (j.h.j.quodbach@uu.nl)

Student Co-Ordinator (UCPH) – Wuzhong He (wuzhong.he@sund.ku.dk)

TIme Presentation NameUniversity/CompanyTitle
9.00 – 9.20Student presentation 1TBCTBCTBC
9.20 – 9.50Faculty presentation 1Yan Shu University of MarylandPharmacogenetics
9.50 – 10.20Faculty presentation 2Christel BergströmUppsala UniversitySemi-solid extrusion printing of Lipid Based Formulations in connection to hospital compounding
10.20-10.40Break
10.40-11.00Student presentation 2TBCTBCTBC
11.00 – 11.30Faculty presentation 3Julian QuodbackUtrecht UniversitySelective Laser Sintering as an Industrial Manufacturing Technology
11.30 – 12.00Faculty presentation 4Anson MaUniversity of Connecticut Inkjet Printing and Binder Jetting

Short Course 5: Sustainable Pharmaceutics

Organizers: Mia Sivén, University of Helsinki (mia.siven@helsinki.fi)

Student Co-Ordinator (UCPH) – Hannah Kolberg (hannah.kolberg@sund.ku.dk)

TIme Presentation NameUniversity/CompanyTitle
9.00 – 9.20Student presentation 1Tea Pihlaja University of Helsinki Pharmaceutical residues in fish- in vitro evaluation
9.20 – 9.50Faculty presentation 1Mia Sivén University of HelsinkiHolistic Approach To Sustainable Pharmacy
9.50 – 10.20Faculty presentation 2Thomas RadesUniversity of CopenhagenAspects of sustainability in drug
10.20-10.40Break
10.40-11.00Student presentation 2TBCTBCTBC
11.00 – 11.30Faculty presentation 3Arlene McDowell University of OtagoHow can pharmaceutical scientists contribute to wildlife health and a sustainable planet?
11.30 – 12.00Round Table Discussion on Sustainable PharmacyTBC TBCAll Speakers